Arrested? Suffering from a past conviction?

Call us or Click Here to schedule your free, in-person (weekends often available).

If our operators are busy, leave a detailed voice message.

Contact Us Now!

Hit & Run Attorneys

Providing Effective Legal Representation to California Residents

Under California law, “hit and run” offenses are considered wobblers, which means that they may be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the circumstances. If you are convicted of misdemeanor or felony hit and run, you can face serious consequences. Our hit and run defense attorneys and legal team at Second Chances Law Group are here to represent you against the severe charges you are currently facing.

What Are the Consequences of Hit & Run?

The penalties for a misdemeanor hit and run can include up to one year in the county jail, you will have to pay fines, and there will be required victim restitution. You could also be facing probation, depending on the circumstances of the alleged offense. If you are convicted of felony hit and run, the consequences will be more severe.

If you are convicted of a felony hit and run, you could face the following consequences:

  • You will be remanded to the custody of California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) to serve out anywhere from 16 months to 3 years in prison
  • You will recieve two points on your California Driver’s License (CDL)

An excess of points on your license can result in your being deemed a negligent operator, which could lead to the suspension or even revocation of your driver’s license. Multiple points on your license will result in the increase in your insurance premiums being raised for years to come as a result of a hit and run conviction and multiple points on your license.

How Are Hit & Run Charges Proven & Defended?

The prosecutor assigned to your case will be working to prove that you committed this crime. However, there are several elements that they must prove, including that you left the scene of an accident, that you failed to identify yourself, and that the property of another person sustained damage from the accident.

Depending on the facts of your case, our hit and run lawyers can advance the following defenses:

  • Only your vehicle suffered damage; the other motorist did not sustain damage to his vehicle
  • You did not know that you were involved an accident or that there was property damage
  • You were not actually involved in the accident

To speak with a member of our team anytime 24/7 or to set up a free case consultation, call our office at (626) 827-7222​.

Get in Touch with Second Chances Law Group

Schedule Your Free Appointment with Our Award-Winning Court Attorneys
Freedom at your Fingertips
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
  • Must be checked