Arrested? Suffering from a past conviction?

Call us or Click Here to schedule your free, in-person (weekends often available).

If our operators are busy, leave a detailed voice message.

Contact Us Now!

Using Disability Placards Illegally

Defending Vehicle Offenses for California Residents

Disability parking placards are issued to people with disabilities affecting their mobility and to certain disabled veterans to allow them to park in spaces that are designated for disabled individuals. In California, you can face criminal charges, as it is considered a vehicle offense if you misuse a disability parking placard. This is a serious offense which can bring about severe consequences if you are convicted, which is why hiring a criminal defense attorney at Second Chances Law Group is so important.

Improper Use or Lending of a Disability Placard

It is not illegal for a person to whom a placard has been issued to permit another person to use the placard for the purpose of transporting the disabled person. However, if a placard has been stolen or given away for improper use, the alleged offender in question can find themselves in serious legal trouble.

To be found guilty of this offense, the prosecution must show that:

  • You are a person to whom a disability placard has been issued;
  • You knowingly lent the placard (or lent your vehicle with a disability license plate) to another person; and
  • The person you lent it to was not entitled to use it.

Improper Display of a Placard

To be found guilty of this offense, the prosecution must show that you displayed a disability placard and the placard was not issued to you or had been canceled or revoked. It is not required that you be parked in a disabled parking space to be found guilty of this crime. Simply displaying the placard is enough.

Improper Parking While Not Transporting Disabled Person

To be found guilty of this offense, the prosecution must show that you were using a vehicle displaying a special identification license plate, you parked in a space designated for disabled persons, and that you were not transporting a disabled person.

The penalties for this type of offense can lead to civil fines or if it is punished as a misdemeanor, you could be faced with fines from $250 to $1,000 and/or imprisonment in the county jail for up to six months.

If you are concerned about the potential consequences you could be facing, it is imperative that you speak with a traffic offense attorneys from our firm to discuss your options and defense strategies. Give us a call today at (626) 827-7222 to make an appointment for a free case consultation.

Get in Touch with Second Chances Law Group

Schedule Your Free Appointment with Our Award-Winning Court Attorneys
Freedom at your Fingertips
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
  • Must be checked