Under California law, if you are convicted of a sex crime, you are required to register as a sex offender. If you fail to properly do so, you can be charged with a crime for failing to register. Failure to register as a sex offender is taken very seriously in the eyes of the law, as it is intended to protect children and individuals in the area which you are trying to live or work. At Coimbra Law Firm, our Acadia sex crime attorneys have successfully represented thousands of cases, including those involving similar serious situations.
The type of penalty you will face for failing to register will depend on your underlying conviction that required registration in the first place, and whether it was a misdemeanor or felony. If you are required to register because of a misdemeanor conviction and you have never been convicted for failing to register before, then you can be charged with a misdemeanor for which you will face up to a year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
However, if you are required to register because of a felony conviction or if you have a prior conviction for failure to register, then you will be charged with a felony. If charged with a felony, you will face from 16 months to 3 years in a state prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. In addition, it should be noted that a failure to register charge can count as a third strike under California’s Three Strikes Law in certain circumstances.