Penalties for DUI in West Covina
If You’ve Been Charged, the Clock is Ticking. Call Today.
Penalties for DUIs in California will depend on whether you have previously
been convicted of a
DUI, and they will increase if you have multiple DUIs within the previous
10 years. The ways in which DUI penalties apply are complex, as they consider
a variety of different factors and unique circumstances. Our team at Coimbra
Law Firm is prepared to offer you top-notch, reliable representation for
the charges you are facing.
There are steps a vigilant defense counselor can be making for you today.
Call our offices to learn what The Coimbra Law Firm can do for you.
DUI Consequences in California
In order to get a thorough understanding of the penalties you could be
facing and the potential plea bargain or defense options which are available
to you, speaking with an West Covina DUI defense lawyer is in your best
interest. The consequences you could face depend on the number of convictions
you have on your record.
- The penalties for DUI are as follows:
First DUI: For your first DUI conviction, the penalty you face can include informal
probation for 3-5 years, 96 hours up to 6 months in county jail; up to
$1,000 in fines, mandatory participation in an alcohol and/or drug education
program, usually lasting 3 to 9 months, and your driver’s license
being suspended from 6 to 10 months (with possible use of a restricted license).
Second DUI: If you are convicted of a second DUI within ten years of your first one,
the penalties you face can include 3-5years of probation, at least 96
hours, and up to 1 year in a county jail, up to $1,000 in fines, mandatory
completion of a California DUI education program, generally lasting 18
to 30 months, and your driver’s license being suspended for two
years, which after 1 year can be converted to a restricted license.
Third DUI: If you are convicted of a third DUI within ten years, you can face 3-5
years of informal probation, at least 120 days and up to a maximum of
1 year in a county jail; up to $1,000 in fines, mandatory completion of
a California DUI education program lasting 30 months, and your license
being suspended for 3 years, which you can seek to convert to a restricted
license after 18 months. You will also be designated as a "habitual
traffic offender" by the California DMV.
Felony DUI: If you are convicted of acquiring 4 or more DUIs within a 10 year period,
you will face felony DUI charges, for which the penalties can include
16 months to 3 years in state prison; up to $1,000 in fines, your license
will be revoked for 4 years, and you will be designated as a Habitual
Our West Covina DUI defense attorneys and team members are incredibly skilled,
effective, and results-oriented. Contact us today at (626) 340-2326
to set up your
free case consultation.